mental indigestion

U is for U Go to My Head (sorry, cheating a little) April 25, 2016

Filed under: Uncategorized — mel @ 9:00 am

You go to my head and you linger like a haunting refrain
And I find you spinning ’round in my brain
Like the bubbles in a glass of champagne
You go to my head like a sip of sparkling Burgundy brew
And I find the very mention of you
Like the kicker in a julep or two

The thrill of the thought that you might give a thought to my plea
Cast a spell over me
Still I say to myself get a hold of yourself
Can’t you see that it never can be

You go to my head with a smile that makes my temperature rise
Like a summer with a thousand Julys
You intoxicate my soul with your eyes
Though I’m certain that this heart of mine
Hasn’t a ghost of a chance in this crazy romance
You go to my head

The thrill of the thought that you might give a thought to my plea
Cast a spell over me
Still I say to myself get a hold of yourself
Can’t you see that it never can be

You go to my head with a smile that makes my temperature rise
Like a summer with a thousand Julys
You intoxicate my soul with your eyes
Though I’m certain that this heart of mine
Hasn’t a ghost of a chance in this crazy romance

Flamingo Bar: a musty, seedy place with shaky neon blue lights, wobbly stools and peanut shells everywhere. He was probably the only regular there. This was fine because the owners never seemed interested in making chit-chat, and he only knew they knew him because they’d deliver his order with him just raising a finger: one bottle of Tiger Beer, one bottle of Guinness Stout, and a mug full of ice.

It had become his de facto after-work pit stop before heading home these past few months. At Flamingo, he would switch his phone off and wind down with his booze, relishing the freedom of being ignored and not having anyone know who he was.

Tonight seemed to be just like any other night, except someone did notice him, and chose to sit next to him. She gaped at him without any attempt to pretend that she wasn’t.

He made it a point to ignore her. However, the lack of response only made her stare at him more intensely. Suddenly, she pinched his arm.

He jerked his arm back in surprise and some of his Tiger Beer spilled onto his lap.

The girl stood up and dug around for tissue paper. “Sorry, mister, I’m so sorry. It’s just that I’ve been dreaming of you for the past few nights and to see you in real life is really freaking me out.”

He shook his head. Chicks are such nutjobs these days, he thought to himself.

“It’s true, dude. And you know what’s even crazier? I dreamt there was a Tiger on your lap and now you’ve spilled Tiger Beer on yourself!”

“Sorry, I’m not interested no matter what your rates are,” he said as gruffly as possible.

“What? You think I’m…? No, you jerk, I’m not a pros. I’m telling you, I’ve seen you in my dreams before.”

Oh Lordy, one of those “psychic” girl types who think they are God’s gift to mankind. “Hey girlie, here’s a tip: don’t tell a guy you’ve just met that you’ve seen them in your dreams. That just comes across as cuckoo.”  He knew he was being an ass but he really wanted to get back to his usual beery solitude.

She glowered at him. “Your name is Jack, right?”

“None of your business.”

“Oh but it is,. You’re Jack, and you just broke up with your long-time girlfriend three months ago. You are becoming just like your father who was an alcoholic. I’ve been sent here to warn you not to go down that path.”

Holy cow. No one knew about his dad except his best friend.

“Did Sam put you up to this?” he whispered.

The girl crossed her arms. “No, you idiot, God did. God tells me to help people in my dreams.”

He covered his face with both hands. He really did not want to deal with this kind of crazy crap. Not on a Wednesday.

“Look, please thank your god for watching out for me, it’s very sweet of him. But now, I’m going home.”

He stumbled out of the bar, but just before he did, the girl grabbed him by his sleeve and shoved a piece of paper with a telephone number written on it into his hand.

“This is what is going to happen. You are going to dream about me tonight. You will find out my name in that dream. And then you will call me.”

He laughed. He would have thrown away the paper, but this would make a hilarious anecdote when he watched soccer with the boys later this weekend.

 

However, the next morning, he called the girl.

“Eunice?” he asked, voice trembling.

“Hey hubby-to-be!” It sounded like she was smiling over the phone.

 

3 Responses to “U is for U Go to My Head (sorry, cheating a little)”

  1. Ah!!! I love this! This was so much fun to read! Thank you for sharing!

  2. mel Says:

    @jessica: thanks for visiting and reading!

  3. That. was. awesome. I wanna know what happens to Jack. 🙂


Leave a Reply

