mental indigestion

O is for Orange-coloured Sky April 18, 2016

Filed under: A-Z Challenge — mel @ 9:00 am
Tags: , , ,

I was walking along, minding my business
When out of an orange colored sky
(Flash, bam, alakazam)
Wonderful you came by

I was humming a tune, drinking in sunshine
When out of that orange colored view
(Flash, bam, alakazam)
I got a look at you

One look and I yelled timber
Watch out for flying glass
‘Cause the ceiling fell in and the bottom fell out
I went into a spin and I started to shout
I’ve been hit
(This is it, this is it, I’ve been hit)

I was walking along minding my business
When love came and hit me in the eye
(Flash, bam, alakazam)
Out of an orange colored sky

One look and I yelled timber
Watch out for flying glass
‘Cause the ceiling fell in and the bottom fell out
I went into a spin and I started to shout
I’ve been hit
(This is it, this is it, I’ve been hit)

I was walking along minding my business
When love came and hit me in the eye
(Flash, bam, alakazam)
Out of an orange colored, purple striped
Pretty green polka dot sky
(Flash, bam) alakazam and goodbye

Wow, I thought love was much softer than that
For the most disturbing sound

 

This evening, there was a beautiful sunset. The sky took on a brilliant orange-reddish hue that had to be shot and posted on my various social media platforms. Of course, some of my online acquaintances beat me to it, but I had the best view, from the rooftop of my 50-storey office building i.e. the smokers’ area. My photo, with the Mayfair filter, looked pretty damn good #inspiringlandscape #gorgeous_skies #whatawonderfulworld.

I was waiting for the “Likes” to come in when suddenly, I saw purple stripes and green polka dots flying across the sky (#omg #wtf #ufo). Before my trembling hands could snap some shots of that, there was a huge flashing light and the next moment, I woke up with a start in a glass room, lying on a glass bed,  with a pale, silver-haired lady who looked like a Liv Tyler-type Elven Queen hovering above me.

Who are you? I asked, surprisingly with just silent brain waves.

“There is no who. There is only you. I am just but a figment of your imagination and I can do anything your heart desires,” she replied rather sophisticatedly, to my head.

“What are you talking about you crazy lady?” I yelled as loudly as I could silently.

The strange lady touched what seemed to be a glowing contraption attached in her ear. “Oh crap. I’m not supposed to be here.” She touched my forehead and I could feel my eyes shut heavily even as my mind screamed in vacuumed panic.

When I next opened my eyes, I found Justin Timberlake in a tuxedo staring deep into me eyes.

“Hey girl, is this better? I’m here for you always,” he said, aloud this time.

“What the hell is going on?” I croaked. There were wires in me everywhere, but when I tried to rip them off, I realised I could not will my body move.

“It’s going to be alright, sweet cheeks, just routine check-ups, no implantation of alien eggs anywhere, just scan scan zap zap and everything will go right back to the way it was before you saw the orange-coloured sky.”

“But everyone saw the orange-coloured sky,” I growled.

“Well, yes, that’s why we’re in a bit of a tizzy here. Accidentally sent you the princess that was meant for one of the male specimens occupying the same building as you.”

I looked around the strange glass room with strange, glassy eyes that did not blink. It was good to have Justin Timberlake for company, VR as he was.

“So the whole world is getting a check-up today?” I asked as casually as I could.

He smiled and his eyes twinkled. Damn, this technology was good.

“Sure, girl. We do it every year. I remember last year, you were really hot for chocolate cronuts.”

“Oh you remember, that’s so sweet! But wait, how could I ever have forgotten this?”

“Well, if we have the technology to make Justin Timberlake your bff-bf, what makes you think we can’t configure memories on a mass scale?”

“This is beyond awesome.” I was beginning to enjoy myself, even if I was paralysed. “So Justin, can you tell me, what exactly are you researching about humankind? We’re a pretty primitive bunch compared to you guys.”

Justin combed through his hair and did a sexy little Bye-bye-bye dance move. “Well, if you really want to know angel face, we’re trying to create a treatment for love. Our fertility rate is really plummeting where we’re from and we’re projected to go extinct in 50 years at this rate. No one really interacts with each other in real life any more – their personalised tachyon personal assistants fulfill all their physical, emotional, intellectual and spiritual needs.

“So you kidnap us and appear to us as fantasy lovers so you can study every single thing that’s happening to us in our bodies when we are in love?”

“Precisely babe. I love how you always figure it out each time we meet. Beauty with brains, man, you are a rare diamond in the sky.”

“Urm, how many times have we met?”

“It’s been a good five years, baby.” Justin swept in to kiss me and I would have swooned if I could. However, I realised that the euphoria made me wiggle my fingers in glee.

“Interesting, once again, the energy force field from your crush on me is actually neutralising the behavior modification medication that is supposed to completely paralyse you for the next hour. Such a potently powerful mystery, this baser human emotion.”

Justin came closer to me. “Let’s try this one out, human lady.” He cleared his throat, got to his knees and declared a tad too dramatically to the cue of my favourite ballad This I Promise You, “I love you and want to spend the rest of my life with you.”

Still, it worked. Both of my arms shot out to grab Justin to kiss him once more. He gently pulled me away and touched my forehead. Just before everything went black again, I suddenly remembered why there were these strange “JT” scratchings that sometimes appeared on my right hand.

 

 

Leave a Reply

