mental indigestion

I is for I Could Write a Book April 11, 2016

Filed under: A-Z Challenge — mel @ 9:00 am
Tags: , , ,

If they asked me I could write a book
About the way you walk and whisper and look
I could write the preface on how we met
So the world would never forget

And the simple secret of the plot
Is just to tell them that I love you a lot
Then the world discovers as my book ends
How to make two lovers of friends

 

[Note: Not the usual short story. Fell sick a few days ago and my writing capacity is a bit limited at the moment.]

 

I could send you to work every morning.
I could pay for your branded handbag.
I could bring you to expensive restaurants with foreign names.
But please…
Don’t ask me to write a book.
I flunked Literature
and I don’t like Shakespeare.

 

I could fold your clothes.
I could clear your hairball in the shower.
I could attend orchestra concerts with you (though I might snore)
But please…
Don’t ask me to write a book.
I love you and I just do.
No need for flowery words which I don’t understand.

 

I could repair the coffee machine.
I could lift the toilet seat up after I pee.
I could wear the same T-shirt as you and be an annoying couple.
But please…
Don’t ask me to write a book.
Don’t tell me only artsy people have souls
I don’t ask you to like soccer, do I?

 

I could tell you how we met in three bullet points.
I could compile an album of lovey-dovey photos.
I could show you all the movie tickets from our dates.
But please…
Don’t ask me write a book.
Don’t say it’s not the same anymore.
I never wrote you anything before – and you were fine then.

 

I could buy you more books.
I could watch the kids for the weekend.
I could let you go for a me-time yoga detox retreat in Bali.
But please…
Don’t ask me to write a book.
Don’t cry and say I’m not trying.
I really am. See? I’ve just written a poem!

 

 

6 Responses to “I is for I Could Write a Book”

  1. cynthiamvoss Says:

    Yoga detox retreat in Bali? Yes, please!

  2. Sharlene Says:

    Well for someone writing while sick (feel better soon!) that was a fun poem!
    I liked the last stanza (paragraph?) best of all. Buy me more books and watch the kids for the weekend. That’s all i need!

  3. Brilliant, and HCJ is one of my fav artists!

    Twitter @beyondsad2016
    http://www.therealdaniel.com

  4. mel Says:

    @sharlene: Don’t we all….? ;P

  5. mel Says:

    @cynthia: amen to that!

  6. mel Says:

    @daniel: thanks and yes Harry rocks!


Leave a Reply

