mental indigestion

G is for Georgia on My Mind April 8, 2016

Georgia, Georgia,
The whole day through
Just an old sweet song
Keeps Georgia on my mind

I said Georgia
Georgia
A song of you
Comes as sweet and clear
As moonlight through the pines

Other arms reach out to me
Other eyes smile tenderly
Still in peaceful dreams I see
The road leads back to you

I said Georgia,
Ooh Georgia, no peace I find
Just an old sweet song
Keeps Georgia on my mind

Other arms reach out to me
Other eyes smile tenderly
Still in peaceful dreams I see
The road leads back to you

Georgia,
Georgia,
No peace, no peace I find
Just this old, sweet song
Keeps Georgia on my mind

I said just an old sweet song,
Keeps Georgia on my mind

On their third date, Georgina named George’s car Georgia.

Georgia was an old, beat-up, dark green Volkswagen Beetle which originally belonged to George’s uncle and had been lovingly restored just for George on his 21st birthday. It had a history that preceded George and Georgina, and Georgina felt a little insecure about that, which was why she started calling it Georgia in the first place.

For two years, they were a strange little nuclear family, this part-human, part-machine trio that went everywhere together. Unwittingly, Georgia bore witness to many of their relationship milestones, including that bitter break-up when George told Georgina they were just incompatible.

That night they broke up, Georgia broke down as well and George had to call his uncle to get contacts for a tow truck and a mechanic. From that time onwards, Georgia became cranky and would somehow choose the worst of times to give way – just before important work meetings, when he was in a rush to go somewhere, or that time when he offered a girl he’d met at a party a lift home. The mechanic told George to scrap Georgia and George told his uncle about it.

“Ah, I see this girl is up to her old tricks again,” his uncle said with a smirk.

“Who now?” George asked.

“The car. She doesn’t like break-ups. You know, there was once, when auntie and I were still dating, we had this huge quarrel over dunno what, and Lola here started smoking up in the hood. Frightened us so much that we stopped fighting! Lola always has had such a temper…”

“Lola? You called the car Lola?”

“Yah, but of course, I don’t call her that when other people are around. Wait people think I’m getting loony and won’t let me ride my Harley. He’s called Clive, you know that?”

“Uh ok. Anyway, she’s called Georgia now.”

The uncle chuckled. “You’re even more old-fashioned than me.”

He then asked George, “Eh boy, so did Lola here ever break down when Georgina was around?”

“No.”

“Hrmmmmm, that means she liked that girl of yours…”

“She’s not ‘my girl’ anymore, uncle.”

“And that’s why Lola is not happy.”

“Uncle, are you listening to yourself? A car does not have feelings or opinions about people. It is just old, like you. I’m scrapping her next week.”

However, a few hours later, in a moment of sentimentality, he texted Georgina.

Scrapping Georgia because she keeps breaking down. Want to see her one last time?

Within seconds, Georgina replied.

Ok. Will drop by later tonight.

That night, Georgina looked happy to see Georgia again. She stroked the car affectionately like it was a big, friendly dog, and then asked George, “Hey, can you take me and Georgia out for one last spin?”

“Um, sure, but just quickly around the block, ok? Georgia refused to start this morning so I don’t want her breaking down suddenly in the middle of nowhere.”

But Georgia hummed beautifully when George turned the ignition key, and it was as if nothing had changed. Georgina switched to the oldies radio station as she always did, and looked pensively out of the window to see if she could spot the moon. And George ended up driving around the whole night, talking to Georgina.

 

5 Responses to “G is for Georgia on My Mind”

  1. Visiting from A to Z. Your posts are very impressive. I will have to come back after the challenge to take some time to appreciate them. Cheers.

  2. mel Says:

    @ann: Thank you for dropping a note. Will be checking out your posts as well!

  3. UpwardSpiral Says:

    Such a brilliant post! 🙂 Love it!

  4. mel Says:

    @upwardspiral thanks for reading!

  5. dimsumdolly Says:

    Love this song!


Leave a Reply

