mental indigestion

H is for Harry April 9, 2015

Filed under: A-Z Challenge — mel @ 8:56 am

H50Lee Kuan Yew (1923-2015) was Singapore’s first Prime Minister and he’s like the Fidel Castro of Asia except he actually made a country work (but I’m very bad with political commentary, a much fairer and comprehensive analysis can be found here). His English name was Harry. He passed away on 23 March 2015, and the whole country mourned so woefully in a way I could not understand. Probably because so much of Singapore is Harry. But if I wanted to get a little bit more real, so much of my crazy family dynamics was a result of what my mum felt was what Harry thought was right. He was her first big crush (he waved to her from an election lorry sometime in the 1960s) and she always told me, “We’re Hakka like him.” Ironically, because she absolutely believed that Chinese dialects should not be uttered in our house because Harry said so, I don’t know a word of Hakka even though it was my mother’s first language.

 

3 Responses to “H is for Harry”

  1. Tarkabarka Says:

    Wow. That’s ironic… but the poem is hilarious 😀

    @TarkabarkaHolgy from
    Multicolored Diary – Epics from A to Z
    MopDog – 26 Ways to Die in Medieval Hungary

  2. Stopping by during the #Challenge. I love visiting blogs with the (WR) designation like mine. What would we do we if couldn’t write. This is my 3rd year to participate. I appreciate all your hard work to write these posts. Come and see me if you have time.

  3. mel Says:

    @tarkabarka : thank you!


Leave a Reply

