mental indigestion

E is for Exit April 6, 2015

Filed under: A-Z Challenge — mel @ 2:31 pm

E50

Ever since I was a child, I was told that I was ungrateful for wanting to live somewhere else besides Singapore. Very few understand that there are places that I intuitively just feel comfortable in, and Singapore is not one of them. But at the same time, having lived “medium-term” in other countries, I know life isn’t perfect on the other side as well. The way things are now: live life here in my own terms as much as possible, but get away when I can.

 

8 Responses to “E is for Exit”

  1. I think that’s the best you can do no matter where you are. Just try to live life on your own terms and find a bit of happiness.

    Good luck with the 2015 A to Z Challenge!
    A to Z Co-Host S. L. Hennessy
    http://pensuasion.blogspot.com

  2. Some situations are more difficult than others. I hope my children are grateful for living here where they have so many opportunities and I hope you get yours too.

  3. Zalka Csenge Says:

    I know how you feel. A lot of young people in Hungary go through the same thing. And I love the poem 🙂

    @TarkabarkaHolgy from
    Multicolored Diary – Epics from A to Z
    MopDog – 26 Ways to Die in Medieval Hungary

  4. mel Says:

    @SL: thanks! Am trying 🙂

  5. mel Says:

    @susan: I’ve had/have good opportunities here which is why most don’t get why I would feel this way. Is there such a thing as bad personality fit?

  6. mel Says:

    @zalka: thank you, and comforting to know that it’s perhaps a rite of passage of sorts.

  7. The grass is always greener………
    Half the Malaysians I know would love to be in Singapore.
    Okay, maybe not half. But quite a few.

  8. mel Says:

    @anna: indeed! and I literally feel like every part of my body unclenches every time I cross the causeway and enter “motherland” haha.


Leave a Reply

