mental indigestion

A is for Archives April 1, 2015

Filed under: A-Z Challenge — mel @ 7:08 am
Tags: , , , , ,

A50

The National Archives of Singapore is responsible for the collection and management of records relating to the nation’s political, social and economic history. It was established in 1968, three years after Singapore became an independent country. I go there for work sometimes, and find more personality in my country in its past than its present.

 

12 Responses to “A is for Archives”

  1. dcrelief Says:

    A very sweet poem (smile)

  2. Tarkabarka Says:

    I have just recently discovered archive work for my storytelling, and I am really enjoying it. You never know what kind of stories you will dig up…
    Happy A to Z! 🙂

    @TarkabarkaHolgy from
    Multicolored Diary – Epics from A to Z
    MopDog – 26 Ways to Die in Medieval Hungary

  3. Carrie-Anne Says:

    I love archives! It’s so humbling and awe-inspiring to think about who might’ve been handling these documents decades or centuries ago, and what they’ve lived through.

  4. mel Says:

    @carrie-anne: indeed!

  5. mel Says:

    @tarkabarka: i especially love listening to oral history interviews – the most natural form of storytelling 😉

  6. mel Says:

    @jazzfeathers: thanks!

  7. Dropping by to say hi. 🙂
    At least your national archives are… fair. I would think.

  8. mel Says:

    @dcrelief: heh really! I thought I sounded so jaded heh.

  9. mel Says:

    @anna: our countries have a shared history so I think about the same lah. urgh am so upset to hear what’s happening in Malaysia now.

  10. Teresa C. Says:

    I bet that is a most awesome place.

  11. mel Says:

    @teresa: yes, in its own understated way 🙂


Leave a Reply

