mental indigestion

Wet Thoughts April 11, 2011

Filed under: Life in general — mel @ 5:05 am

Today, I was five years old again with a too big raincoat, splashing puddles with my black boots and feeling tiny between the cedar trees over hundreds of years old. When I looked up towards these grand woody dames, I saw the silver raindrops fall gracefully down like forest fairies daintily descending on my face.

I used to run out in the rain barefoot as a little girl and I loved the feel of the rain dribbling down my fingers, as if the water came from me. I would pretend I was the rain princess, bringing life to the parched lands and making flowers and trees grow again. I would spin around and around, imagining that the faster I spun, the more rain there would be, though of course, I later found out people have little control over what happens in the sky, or even on the ground for that matter.

I believe the rain are like the earth’s tears washing away the tears that humans have inflicted upon each other. I believe the rivers collect rainy tears and human tears together and the sea spins them into dancing waves that weave in and out on the land. Crying and raining happen in cycles, like with everything else in life.

 

2 Responses to “Wet Thoughts”

  1. Joan Says:

    My first thought when I saw the pic was: Paddington Bear! 🙂

    Lovely entry…there’s nothing like being up close and personal with Mother Nature when she’s in a restful state. This entry reminds me of the two Camphor trees we saw in Lantau Island. I remember you describing them as being ‘soulful’.

  2. melch Says:

    Hi Joan, I remember those Camphor trees fondly (love their backstory) and am so glad Ivan dragged us up there despite my unfit reluctance. Hope we get to do more explorations with nature soon!


Leave a Reply

