mental indigestion

Shining Eyes May 14, 2010

Filed under: Inspiration — mel @ 8:24 am
Tags: ,

I’ve always had a slight disdain for classical music because of its associations – failure ( I quit at Grade 6), bourgeois snootiness (forced to attend SSO concerts when I was younger because it was the “cultured” thing to do) and the whole idea that you needed some sort of effort to be patient when listening to this sort of music.

This TED talk by conductor Benjamin Zander actually brought me to tears while listening to a Chopin piece. It’s absolutely worth it to spare 20 minutes to watch this inspiring video clip – it’s not just about music, but about passion as well.

“I realized my job was to awaken possibility in other people. And of course, I wanted to know whether I was doing that. And you know how you find out? You look at their eyes. If their eyes are shining, you know you’re doing it.” – Benjamin Zader

 

7 Responses to “Shining Eyes”

  1. enette Says:

    Thanks for posting this Mel! It was inspiring indeed. I thought of Poody but then I got distracted just like he said. I am in the 3rd or 4th group. Heh heh. I really enjoyed his speech at the end though. That’s the funny thing about inspiration, it’s an auto pay-it-forward because it makes you want to inspire others too doesn’t it? Or maybe it’s a writer thing?

    Anyway, I was listening to this series that NPR is doing on the Grand Trunk Road (http://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=126395475&ps=cprs) and it occurred to me that i would love to work on a reporting project with you some day!

  2. melch Says:

    @enette: maybe it’s the idealism of us march babies always loving it when other people try to change the world and we attempting to do likewise sort of! in any case, YES! i would love to do a reporting project with you too except maybe i’m not as “hard news” as you? drop you a note soon on my idea 😉

  3. enette Says:

    So interesting that you think of me as hard news!! Hehe I’m quite flattered actually cos’ I’ve always thought of myself as a slacker magazine person and the hard newsers were usually super hardcore in j-school.

    Anyway, looking forward to hearing from you about your idea and I’m envisioning something featurey backed up with great reporting. So a good in-between I think! 🙂

  4. ST Says:

    i love this post so much!
    i laughed and cried through the video.

  5. melch Says:

    @ST: *hugs* i was thinking that the stuff he was saying was really applicable to what you’re going through now. you’re going to get there yah?

  6. Josh Says:

    That was fantastic, Mel – wouldn’t have seen it otherwise, and it was definitely worth the 20 minutes.

  7. melch Says:

    Hey Josh – glad you enjoyed this as much as I did. Such talks are so precious – rarely do people we don’t really know can have such an effect on us.


Leave a Reply

