mental indigestion

Angsty Lit January 29, 2010

Filed under: Kay poh recommendations — mel @ 4:48 pm
Tags: ,

Book of the Year 1996

“It’s everybody, I mean. Everything everybody does is so–I don’t know–not wrong, or even mean, or even stupid, necessarily. But just so tiny and meaningless–and sad-making. And the worst part is, if you go bohemian or something crazy like that, you’re conforming just as much as everybody else, only in a different way.”- J.D. Salinger

I was this broody 17-year-old. I felt that no one could understand me. However, when my friend A. gave me this book as a birthday present I practically embraced it. Along with 1984 and Brave New World – these novels represented the epitome of all the oppression and phoniness I felt EVERYONE was about.

Ah, youth and its tendencies to melodramatize everything.

But you know what? Thank God for such angsty literature, of which our phantom menace sides can find an outlet in. And they are good reminders to constantly question the status quo and the facades that we get all too familiar with.

J.D. Salinger – RIP. Thank you for your words which provided me so much solace in my adolescence. I hope you left the world feeling less crap about it.

Pop culture/Hollywood trivia: Zooey Deschanel was named after this novel by her parents, even though Zooey was the guy in the story. But no surprises there, Zooey is such a cute name. And what cool parents!

 

Leave a Reply

