mental indigestion

Isn’t It Ironic? January 20, 2010

Filed under: Life in general — mel @ 6:09 pm

I am now meticulously coaching a bunch of graduating students how to sell themselves in the job market. I tell them to “milk out” their experiences, “put on” a persona of passion and in some cases, to “make something out of nothing” e.g. how being on the volleyball team has taught  “valuable” skills such as “being a proactive team player” and “the ability to adapt to stressful, competitive conditions” as opposed to the more likely revelation that tanned legs look really good with shorts.

I also realise I may not be the best example since I have deviated from the whole getting a proper, lucrative job scene, and especially so since sometimes, I come in telling them about the unspoken rules of the working world dressed in the most uncorporate apparel of polka dots and stripes and feather hairbands.  Given how these students seem even more hippie than I am, I am not sure how drumming in the idea that using off-white Conqueror paper to print out their cover letters and resumes will really sit with them. However, I must say, it’s a lot more fun “strategising” how to smoke potential employers rather than doing the actual job application and interview. It’s almost like fiction!

 

3 Responses to “Isn’t It Ironic?”

  1. adorra Says:

    i need your coaching too like that!! 😛

  2. melch Says:

    You don’t need one lah 🙂

  3. adorra Says:

    mel mel, u think far too highly of me already!
    me thinks me still need your coaching! -nods-


Leave a Reply

