mental indigestion

Soother of the Year December 2, 2009

Filed under: Kay poh recommendations — mel @ 10:41 pm
Tags:

Sondre Lerche

The music of Sondre Lerche featured very strongly in my life this year. I’d heard about him several years ago from my indie-loving friends and downloaded a few of his tracks from Faces Down and Two Way Monologue albums for their quirky, upbeat melodies. But it’s only after watching Dan in Real Life (of which he did the soundtrack for) that I did the “Sondre Lerche Therapy” thing again, which can I say, really works when you’re feeling blue.

This Norwegian dude is like a more intellectual version of Jason Mraz and his songs are the perfect accompaniment to a rainy day. I may not understand what all his existential lyrics are about, but there are always random lines that resonate strongly. Right now, this is my favourite Sondre Lerche song from his latest album Heartbeat Radio, which is about a boy who is cranky about the moon:

What I’ve also discovered, thanks to Youtube, is that he also has a knack for crooning jazz and I bought his Duper Sessions as a little Christmas present for myself. Here’s him singing “The More I See You”:

 

2 Responses to “Soother of the Year”

  1. enette Says:

    My favourite song from him when I’m feeling down is “Everybody’s Rooting For you” 🙂

  2. melch Says:

    Oh my, SAME HERE! 😀


Leave a Reply

