mental indigestion

Favourite Jazz Lines October 28, 2009

Filed under: Life in general — mel @ 10:13 pm
Tags: ,

All that jazz

Inspired by a friend’s FB status update: “Suddenly aware of how whimsical this line is: Fly me to the moon, and let me play among the stars”.

In no particular order, the lines that have haunted me:

In llama land, there’s a one-man band and he’ll toot his flute for you – Come fly with me
I feel like I’m clinging to a cloud – Misty
When we said our first hello, little did we know – Strangers in the Night
You haunt me with reveries of days gone by – In My Solitude
I feel your face in every flower, your eyes in stars above – The Very Thought Of You
Carry moonbeams home in a jar – Would You Like to Swing on a Star
It’s still the same old story, the fight for love and glory, a case of do or die – As Time Goes By
Unphotographable, yet you’re my favourite work of art – My Funny Valentine
She loves the free, fresh wind in her hair – The Lady is a Tramp
Where my heart can go journeying, over the shadow and the rain to a blossom-covered lane – Skylark
Update: Just thought of another one – Do I love you because you’re beautiful, or are you beautiful, because I love you? – Rodgers and Hammerstein’s Cinderella.

Ok, I am officially a sop.

 

3 Responses to “Favourite Jazz Lines”

  1. enette Says:

    I like…Loves the theatre, but she never runs in there late, along with most of the lines u mentioned.

    one line bugs me though cos i always hear it as something else, at least in the Michael Buble version: other dancers may pee on the floor…dear but my eyes will see only you…

    bet you’ll never get that out of your head. hahaha.

  2. melch Says:

    Haha you have made me see “Sway” in a new light, and it ain’t pretty! I used to think this certain song went, “Everytime you go away, you take a piece of MEAT with you” and I thoroughly approved of that person in that song who seemed to like slabs of ham so much.

  3. Pinny Says:

    Hahaha!! We could go on and on about all the lyrics we’ve heard wrong. in fact there are websites that collect them. one i’ve come across is : Shamu the mysterious whale (correct: she moves in mysterious ways) hee hee!


Leave a Reply

