mental indigestion

Engineer Cuisine February 2, 2009

Filed under: Kay poh recommendations — mel @ 8:44 pm

Up to now, I’m still not much of a cook even though I have amassed quite a collection of recipe books and even a Larousse Gastronomique, which is really a treasure trove of useless but fascinating information. [For example, did you know that the rare Mouflon is a wild sheep from Corsica and Sardinia and is an ancestor of the domestic sheep?]

I realise that the only bits of cooking techniques I recall are from home economics class, what Julia taught me  and select snippets from cooking shows that zoom in very close when they chop things. 

This is why I think Cooking for Engineers rocks – detailed step by step photos and timeline tables in all their glory. I’ve tried making Garlic Roasted Potatoes (D’s craving) and Corn Fritters (my craving) without much confusion (except for the slight mayhem those popping corn kernels caused). 

The guy who created this magnificent website stays in San Francisco. Olduvai you should make friends with him.

 

Leave a Reply

