mental indigestion

Congratulations Lauren! September 10, 2008

Filed under: Whee! — mel @ 9:37 am
Tags: ,
You're a winner!

You're a winner!

Yay, my childhood friend Lauren has clinched a update: two bronzes in the Paralympics!

She is such an amazing person and you know, I can’t help but get peeved that there wasn’t much media coverage given on her before she clinched the medal (she was winning so many other medals for Singapore before this one!) . I tried by contributing an article on her in Vanilla Magazine (if you’d like to read it, just drop me a note and I’ll be happy to send you the scanned article), but it really didn’t help with the whole funding issue because there are “limited funds” for atheletes with disabilities (grrrrrrrr….).

And this is why I really couldn’t get all excited and nationalistic when there was the whole big hoo-ha with the Olympic Silver. Especially knowing there are such double standards in the way sports funding and recognition takes place here.

But hey, this is not a grousing session, but a celebratory post for a beautiful friend both inside and out with a spirit of steel. For her next event, she is performing to music (depsite being profoundly deaf). Please say a prayer and root for her! (Update: She came in third!)

 

6 Responses to “Congratulations Lauren!”

  1. Sandra Says:

    Hi!!

    Thanks for leaving a comment on my blog. I didn’t know about the double standard thingy until I read your post.

    Will be keeping my fingers crossed for Laurentia next item!!! 🙂

  2. Janice Says:

    Hi Laurentia,
    Congratulations! As a Singaporean I am proud of you have indeed proven to when there will there truly a path to success. Continue to strive on!

  3. Lisa Says:

    *Nods* You said it. ‘Spirit of steel’ indeed, that’s our Lauren. I’m not from S’pore but we were at school together and we’ve been friends now for 15 years, so…. Lauren, my pet, if you’re reading this at any point I so proud of you. ox.

  4. ryblogging Says:

    Hey, do you have a scanned copy of the article you have written about Laurentia? It’s true that in Singapore, there isn’t much coverage about her. I saw on the Beijing Paralympic Games website a featured story about her. They were actually very impressed. I wrote several entries in my blog about her too. You can find it here: http://ryblogging.wordpress.com/2008/09/11/grabbing-the-headlines-with-a-bronze-medal/

  5. LG Says:

    Thanks for this post! I so agree with you and your effort at making a difference. God bless

  6. woollendrums Says:

    Congrats to Laurentia! 🙂 I read your Vanilla article and I found it really touching! I’m inspired by her passion and determination to succeed despite facing so many odds. 🙂 hee, and i love the pic of her and the horse!


Leave a Reply

