mental indigestion

Scrapbook Therapy July 27, 2008

Filed under: Whee! — mel @ 4:24 pm

I simply could not bear to use my brains this weekend and so I spent most of my time cutting, sticking, punching bits of pretty paper, stickers and photographs. There’s something about the sound of (good quality) paper being cut, getting your fingers sticky with the glue and being surrounding by shiny stickers. The world just seems like a much nicer and fuzzier place when there’s good stationery.

I realise scrapbooking and me will go very well together since I generally  like pretty paper (Paper House stalker), sparkly pens (Popular bookshop/Kino stalker) and photographs (too many of them all over the house). I felt so soothed after completing my very first scrapbook that, I went down again to the money-sucking scrapbook shop to pick up more delightful designy papers and alphabet stickers. I am making it a point NOT to go for a scrapbooking class because I know it gets really complicated with iron-ons and embroidery and heat embossing – which my lack of artistic aptitude (and wallet) would not be able to afford.

For now, I’m just happy to just to get crafty instead of worky. Now I understand why high-strung Paris Geller from Gilmore Girls had set up a scrapbooking table at her Yale dorm to find inner calm. It does work!

 

2 Responses to “Scrapbook Therapy”

  1. Almostgotit Says:

    Oh ho, if you like scrapbooking, you’d better check out Polyvore.com! Or perhaps not. Warning: It’s even more addictive than Bejeweled or Solitaire…

  2. melch Says:

    You’re right, thanks! One more form of therapy! But gee, I can’t seem to do the fancy things like the one you did with Bill Cosby 😉


Leave a Reply

