mental indigestion

XXX June 26, 2008

Filed under: Mopey mops — mel @ 9:24 pm

Yesterday, I was reading a book that’s being distributed as part of the National Library Board’s Reading Campaign .

While reading Wena Poon’s “Lions in Winter” (by far the best story in there), I was interrupted during a particularly intense moment taking place between the protagonist and his sister. (see picture above)

Immediately, I was jolted back to reality and thought about the the poor hapless library person who had to stick thousands of “xxx” bits of paper over that damning word.

There’s also a CD with the audio version of this story. I wonder how the narrator would read that part out:

“…would call a mind-f-triple-x”? or  “…would call a mind-tooooooooooot”?

Even government-sanctioned local literature also kena censor. Sigh, and they want us to get interested in reading.

 

4 Responses to “XXX”

  1. Almostgotit Says:

    Amazing. Not like it’s any mystery what the original word is, right? And it pulls you right out of the narrative and jolts you back into your own world, suddenly interupted by an irritating bit of paper stuck to the page. If the object is to encourage reading, this is hardly the way to do it, I agree.

  2. Wena Says:

    Hi, I’m Wena Poon. I’ll be in Singapore July 27-Aug 1 doing readings of this story you mentioned. I did not know they had stuck a sticker over the word. This is too hilarious and we are having a great laugh about it over here in America! I hope you will come to my readings/meet the author sessions. Schedule will be up on my blog closer to date. Thanks for reading my story.

  3. Tym Says:

    Proving once again that there is absolutely no respect for the written word (or creative arts) in Singapore 😛

    Can I borrow the book when you’re done with it? I think you should scratch off the sticker!

  4. […] the little complaint about the censored short story, author Wena Poon dropped an e-mail suggesting that I check out the rest of her short stories in […]


Leave a Reply

