mental indigestion

Was it just a dream? June 16, 2008

Filed under: Life in general — mel @ 10:57 pm

bookshop

I did get back home with a record time of not bathing for three days. It was not pretty.
But I slept so incredibly well on the plane, undoubtedly pooped from the previous days’ drama.
I am back now, facing two laptops, trying to deal with the work-that-needs-to-be-done and wondering how long the surreality of 1) going to ulu Iowa 2) getting caught in a catastrophic flood 3) surviving hellish flights to and fro 4) being surrounded by people who actually respect writing will last.

In the meantime, here’s a picture of my happiest moment there – 11th June, Wednesday on a sunny part of the day I was walking around the town on my own just taking in the protons and finding refuge in a bookshop with character, Prairie Lights. What a chair.

 

2 Responses to “Was it just a dream?”

  1. Pinny Says:

    You were just in Iowa? Which part? Why? One of my best good friends is from there. I’d say most people from there rock!

  2. melch Says:

    I was in Iowa City – yeah, I think Iowans are such friendly and generous people! I don’t think I’d ever have made it home had there been more selfishness and reclusiveness.


Leave a Reply

