mental indigestion

Over the rainbow April 4, 2008

Filed under: Life in general — mel @ 1:31 pm

Rainbow


Melbourne’s weather was on its worst behaviour when we were there with a cold front when we arrived, followed by persistent rain when we drove down to Wilsons Prom and Great Ocean Road, then sticky scorching weather and we departed with howling gale winds causing flight delays and cancellations.

However, despite all this, I still have a soft spot for this unpredictable place. It’s both beautiful and ugly, and it’s also a place that contains happy and sad memories for me. And I love the space in the country. I just love the fact that there is nothingness and flat land and no people around for the next few miles. I may not be able survive in that environment long term, but short term, it just gives me space in my mind, and maybe my heart.

 I really loved how the B&B owners we stayed with at Wilsons Prom carried on with their lives. They don’t waste their excess food (all goes to the chickens), they saved an injured bird they call Brian and that little pecker often stopped by the window sill to chirp a bit during breakfast time (which included fresh tomatoes and berries from their garden). They recycle plastic and paper, they only go to the city once every few months and they astutely measure rain levels every month to make sure their soil is ok.

It’s not highly exciting stuff, but somehow, I just wish that my life could be as simple and as closely connected with nature as that. 

 

Leave a Reply

