mental indigestion

Chungking Express (1994) February 16, 2008

Filed under: Kay poh recommendations — mel @ 10:27 pm

This is a little late to be watching this. But for some strange reason, I’ve always thought that this movie was about a railway station, which didn’t sound very interesting to me. Another Wong Kar Wai film I remember watching is In the Mood For Love, which I caught in some Midwestern arthouse cinema and for some strange reason, everyone started laughing every time Tony Leung slurped on his food. It was most disconcerting and ruined the film for me.But since all these arty movies are at my disposal at the school library (e.g. really way over the head stuff like Un Chien Andalou), I’m trying to be a bit more adventurous with my film diet. And what a delight to watch! A great script with wonderful characterizations – I never thought I could find Faye Wong that lovable especially when she boogies with tongs to California Dreamin! And the always gorgeous Tony Leung is absolutely believable as he gives pep talks to his stuff toys, rags, soap and beer bottles (mostly coz’ I have chats with inanimate objects occasionally too). It’s nice to see Takeshi Kaneshiro act as a fumbling dodo for a change and Lin Ching Hsia remains agelessly beautiful in her final film.

We’re all unlucky in love sometimes. When I am, I go jogging. The body loses water when you jog, so you have none left for tears.

(Tony Leung to a dripping towel): It was such a relief when I saw it crying. It may look different, but it’s still true to itself. It’s still an emotionally charged towel.

 

Leave a Reply

