mental indigestion

Vulnerable January 25, 2008

Filed under: Mopey mops — mel @ 7:16 am

It is the oft repeated story that soon after I yelp a bit about feeling too busy, my body starts giving way. A minor bout of flu (which D. also shared and now he’s coughy) I gleefully doused off with plenty of liang cha. Then these persistent stomach pains set in, which I initially thought was gastric, but now turns out to be a bladder infection and is turning out to be quite annoying.

The good news is, this crazy month’ busyness is tapering off. Things will slow down with the nitty-gritty of wedding/housing logistics done and lessons soon coming to a close. And even if they don’t, I am going to be more firm about getting myself to slow down. I have and will turn down all freelance writing assignments. I will not go for social things unless I really do feel up to it (in advance, apologies for whatever flakiness I might pull these next two months). I will take deep breaths and go for more long nature trail walks to clear my mind off on a more regular basis.

I do feel guilty whenever these body floppy things happen. I cannot put in my share of the work for D, my colleagues and my students. Ok another point to note: stop feeling guilty and just get well dammit.

 

Leave a Reply

