mental indigestion

To be or not to be November 18, 2007

Filed under: Life in general — mel @ 11:38 am

 

goodwifeguide.gif

Full article can be read here.

While marriage preparation at church has been mostly insightful, the recent sessions on a wife’s submission and her role as helper had content very similar to the article above. I was disturbed but seemed to be the only one in my group who was. (One girl said rather nonchalantly, “If I don’t want to submit, I just manipulate to persuade him lor!”)

My group leader said, “Aiyah, domineering women like us will have issues like these. ” But seriously, I don’t think I am domineering. I am more than happy to let someone take the lead whether at home or at work, just as long as that leadership is one that is based on respect and understanding. However, what I often see is people using this mandate to suppress, put others down, become spineless, or as an excuse for pure selfishness.

Like I said, I am very, very disturbed. Interestingly enough, I’ll be teaching gender equality this coming week -perhaps this will give me some time to work things out. I hope that God will also provide me wisdom and open-mindedness in an area that has been seriously entrenched by generations of skewed chauvinism.

I don’t want to be a ballbuster wife, but neither do I want to be a Stepford wife.

 

5 Responses to “To be or not to be”

  1. Lianne Says:

    Submission in perspective:
    God created woman from a bone taken from a man’s rib, and not from his feet that he might trod her underfoot, not from his head that she might rule over him, but from his side that she may be his equal, under his arm that he might protect her, and next to the heart, that he might love her.

  2. melch Says:

    Thanks for sharing this Lianne! It helps.

  3. Tym Says:

    Eeyur, lucky I was not sitting in your marriage prep class, otherwise you know I would have Things. To. Say. 🙂

  4. Joan Says:

    I would love to hear what Tym has to say! 😉

  5. slowstitcher Says:

    Oh, I had issues too. Now, I submit to the fact that his opinion differs from mine, and then go my own merry way. 😉


Leave a Reply

