mental indigestion

Back to the mainstream December 8, 2006

Filed under: Life in general — mel @ 11:40 am

For a good number of reasons, I’ve decided to convert to full-time status at the school I’ve been part-timing in for the last few months. While kind of apprehensive since it is not the most economically-maximizing situation, it is, in the long-run, the most stabilizing and developmentalish.

So yesterday, I went for my first ever corporate retreat thingy after almost two years of leading a somewhat quietish and solitary work life of being holed up in a study room/cafe/bedroom/library. And I was just totally exhausted after that because I don’t think I’ve talked to that many people or listened to such long powerpoint presentations in the span of one day. So much so that I fell fast asleep while watching the feature-length version of Becoming Royston at Uncle R’s place in the evening, even at that controversial scene with the fiesty tango sountrack.

The talking wasn’t too bad, I reckon the tiny and dormant social butterfly side of me flickered at times. There are some nice colleagues with a great sense of humour, and an old friend to catch up with too. It’s a good start I guess. Just need to build up the stamina to become a regular working person again.

 

2 Responses to “Back to the mainstream”

  1. Jean Says:

    Yay you survived the weird-ass interview! Congratulations! Merry Christmas! Happy New Year! 🙂

  2. melch Says:

    Haha, I guess I did. Catch up with you soon…will be in your area a lot more often now.


Leave a Reply

